Thursday, 22 November 2018

Winners of the 2018 Global Freight Awards announced in London

Flexport named ‘Freight Forwarder of the Year’, Metro Shipping in double-win, and Lord Tony Berkeley honoured for contribution to European rail freight

Lloyd’s Loading List welcomed more than 500 freight forwarders, shippers and other industry professionals to the 22nd instalment of the Global Freight Awards last night in London.
The night’s big winners included Metro Shipping, which won two awards, and US technology-driven ‘start-up’ freight forwarder Flexport, which won the ‘Freight Forwarder of the Year’ award, a new category this year. Lord Tony Berkeley was also recognised for his outstanding service to the European rail freight industry.
The win by Flexport was in recognition of the growing emergence over the past year of new business models within freight and logistics in which traditional elements of the freight transport business are being combined with innovative technology applications and capabilities to offer increased choice, transparency and potential efficiencies to cargo owners – and attracting new, often young, talented people to the freight business.
The publisher of Lloyd’s Loading List, Nick Marsh, commented: “We’ve seen exceptional quality across the board this year with technology playing an increasingly important part in the success of the companies that won. The other standout development is the increased internationalism of the awards, with over half of all entries coming from non-European domiciled businesses: the Global Freight Awards are truly global.”

2018 Award Winners

Air Freight Award
Winner: Metro Shipping

Customer Care Award
Winner: Twill
Highly commended: Flexport

Digital Transformation Award
Winner: Metro Shipping

Employer of the Year
Winner: Uniserve Group
Highly commended: Espace Europe

Environment Award
Winner: Hamburg Süd
Highly commended: Maersk Line

Freight Forwarder of the Year
Winner: Flexport

Lifetime Contribution to Freight
Winner: Tony Berkeley

Product Innovation Award
Winner: Stowga

Project Forwarding Award
Winner: Ucargo
Highly commended: deugro

Service Innovation Award
Maersk Line

Specialist Freight Award
Winner: Greenshields Cowie

Supply Chain Partnership Award
Winner: Rhenus Logistics

2018 Readers’ Vote Award winners

Air Cargo Carrier of the Year
Winner: Emirates SkyCargo

Break Bulk Operator of the Year
Winner: Bahri Logistics

Consolidator of the Year
Winner: ECU Worldwide

Container Line of the Year
Winner: MSC

Port Operator of the Year
Winner: DP World

Rail Freight Operator of the Year
Winner: DB Cargo

Road Haulier of the Year
Winner: Maritime Transport

Ro-Ro Line of the Year
Winner: Grimaldi Lines


Post a comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home